Menu
Back To Previous Page

Mountain Living's Rough Beauty with Karen Auvinen

    • Old Firehouse Books is happy to welcome Colorado author Karen Auvinen to our store! We invite you to join us at the store on Wednesday, June 5th at 6:00pm to hear Karen speak about her forthcoming memoir Rough Beauty: Forty Seasons of Mountain Living. This event is free and open to the public.

      Karen Auvinen is an award-winning poet, mountain woman, and lifelong westerner. Perfect for fans of Cheryl Strayed’s Wild and Helen MacDonald’s H is for Hawk, Rough Beauty is a stunning, inspirational memoir. Determined to live a life on her own terms, Karen flees to a primitive cabin in the Rockies to write and embrace the beauty and brutality nature has to offer. But after a fire destroys all of her earthly possessions, she must embark on a heroic journey to reconcile her desire to be alone with her need for community.

      We hope you’ll join us for this event!